rant fan

Posted on January 20, 2007

1


I don’t know why I write. I can’t stand writing rants. I don’t know why you read. I rant.

Not been doing anything the past two weeks- I’m crossing my fingers that thats all the time I wasted, is all- living with the family. No, thats not a waste of time, quite the opposite really. But other than living at home, I’m doing little else. Been doing my darnest not doing anything- not meeting people, not exercising (as usual), not writing stories, not thinking. Not thinking is best. You know the whole double-think theory?

Of course not. I made it up. But come on. The double think theory? I mean when you tell yourself not to think when you’re thinking?

“I’m losing my neurons.”

Etienne said that. You know the movie Look at Me?  Brilliant, mocking piece on the excesses of the human mind. Go watch.

“The cyanide’s in the kitchen- just thought I’d break the tension.”

Can’t shut him up. Etienne I mean.

Thats him.

Where was I? No, yes, so I thought I would write another entry- one of those entries what-i-did about stuff stuff happening to me, whats up- What’s up, what I did, what I ate. I just kinda thought I’d break the rule about not writing those abit, its phenomenal how I vegetate at home, I need a bit of documentation.

Its frightening how morose I get in my entries, that I kinda like it. Secretly. I mean, who wants to be all lovely and happy? Ladeeda?

I watched something else yesterday- Broken Flowers. Jim Jarmunsch. Interesting director. His stuff is just banal and quiet and contemplative. Bill Murray was great.

Yeap.

Watched heaps of movies is what I did these past weeks. Dipped my fingers into books and read a page or two. Five pages off five books. Better with current affairs though. Well kinda. Ex. Read old copies of sis’s Newsweek. More in line with my monstrous moroseness. I mean, US jumping up and down because China shot an old satellite? Funny what.

Figured out I’d move out of Elm Towers this semester. Finally. After two and a half years. What I most wanted, to move out proper on my own. A proper house, with proper housemates, wine and talk, instead of staring moodily at my computer screen. But as usual, my mind screws with me.

Losing it a bit these past few days though, trying to find suitable people with rooms to let. Accumulating contacts I haven’t rang up. The mind is just going a bit overtime with all the imaginative trappings of psycho housemates and rat infested houses. Somene just counsel this mind of mine please.

ABBOTSFORD HOUSE $95.00 per week
Bond $400.00 Lodged with the RTBA
Electricity Shared
Water Shared
Gas Not Connected/Applicable
Phone Shared
Internet Shared
Photos online: No

Comments: Seeking pleasant female with good sense of humour to join laid back and cynical household in Abbotsford. Situated right off Victoria Street (restaurants, supermarkets, public transport). Ideally you will be: funny, but not clownish; fun-loving, but not a raucous party animal; and intelligent—perhaps even bookish—but not dull. We are: a creative writing student (M, 21yrs), a freelance writer (M, 21yrs), and a photojournalism student (F, 24yrs).

What do you think?

I dont know. I’m cynical but funny? I’m not funny.

What else. Oh what I ate. Its called ‘ration mee’. What they called instant noodles done in a real economical but tasty way on board the ship. Mum sailed with Dad on their honeymoon. Six months. She’s got a few variations of ways to cook ‘ration mee’. Ketchup, canned mushrooms, potatoes, eggs- fried. Oh use Maggi. Indo-mee is a bit of a stretch.

Love being at home.

untitled-2.jpg

My uncle is out of the hospital. He had one blocked artery operated, one broken father-daughter relationship on the mend. Pretty decent trade I think.

Posted in: daily grind, moronics