if i were a cat

Posted on January 11, 2007

2


 

If only I were a pet

 

 

 

a ?

I’d be happy to sit and wait

wave a silent goodbye

from my heart

When i see you-s leave my gate.

 

I see you-s in the morning

 

and in the night.

 

(not in the day)

 

I like how you-s come home, but

I despair how I stay home.

This mad , with her

 

amphibian purr

 

shut her eyes (in the day)

 

thinks up a storm.

Of tomorrow- what of? wait.-

 

Will she still be a fat ?

 

How not to be a ?

Of other-worldly-tomorrows-

 

Exactly how not to be a :

 

Perhaps she’ll swing trees

 

instead of lick knees

 

Snatch wild fruit

 

instead of wait for fish to cook.

This , this pedigree bat, not.

 

(although not quite royal, yet)

 

is what this real world calls-

 

“working middle class”.

She lives next to a wet gutter

 

hunts when a rat chances.

 

She sleeps in a lined basket

 

milked regularly, always, at eight.

Her friends: Banker-, Doctor-, scholar-, filmmaker-, solictor-cat, model-, teacher-, once-I-graduate-i’ll-be-the president .

Her: cat. Just another cat. Just morning-and-night-notintheday-cat.

 

Happy to sit and wait.

If she were a pet. A .